17 London fire stations face closure


17 London Fire Stations will be closed according to a leaked documents seen by the London Evening Standard and the BBC. The stations planned to be closed include:

  • Acton
  • Belsize
  • Clerkenwell
  • Downham
  • Islington
  • Kensington
  • Knightsbridge
  • New Cross
  • Silvertown
  • Southwark
  • Westminster
  • Woolwich
  • Bow
  • Clapham
  • Kingsland
  • Peckham
  • Whitechapel

London’s Tory Mayor Boris Johnson and the Tory-Lib Dem government have been slashing emergency service budgets. The proposed station closures are part of the fire brigade’s plan to cut £65 million over the next two years, risking the loss of 600 jobs. These reckless cuts put the lives of Londoners at risk. Londoners deserve better.

1 thought on “17 London fire stations face closure

  1. Pingback: Save Islington’s Fire Stations: Update | Cllr Alice Perry

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s